Sonic Panel at the SDCC 2018 Will Have Some “Surprise Announcements”

San Diego Comic Con is a space where some great things happen each year. Last year Marvel unveiled a bunch of details about their upcoming Spider-Man game, while Sledgehammer revealed a few tidbits for Call of Duty: WWII. Now, Sega has announced that they will be in attendance at this year’s San Diego Comic Con with a special event called “Sonic the Hedgehog’s Way Past Cool Panel.”

Sonic Mania Plus

//z-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/onejs?MarketPlace=US&adInstanceId=97fd8628-f215-4e90-86b4-71686d8a7140

That’s right, Sega is joining the ranks of those coming to talk all things gaming at San Diego Comic Con 2018 where they will discuss comics, upcoming games, and they’re even set make a few “surprise announcements.” The Sonic the Hedgehog’s Way Past Cool Panel will take place in just a few days time on July 19th between 2 PM PST/ 5PM EST and 3 PM PST/6 PM EST.

If you’re wondering what to expect from Sega, here’s the official description of the panel. “Sonic The Hedgehog has raced back into comics, bringing old enemies and new friends along for the ride. IDW editors Joe Hughes and David Mariotte, artist Evan Stanley, Sega licensing specialist Michael Cisneros, director of product development Austin Keys, and head of Sonic team Takashi Iizuka discuss comics and upcoming games, make some surprise announcements, and more!”

Team Sonic Racing New Characters

While it seems unlikely that Sega will reveal a brand new game, it’s safe to assume that Team Sonic Racing will get to be a star of the panel. Maybe we’ll get to see the game in action with a new trailer, or maybe even discover a new team. Who knows, maybe Sega will even announce a release date, after all the game is currently listed as launching sometime in 2018.

What do you think Sega will announce at this year’s San Diego Comic Con? Do you think we could see a brand new game announced? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below and don’t forget to keep it locked for updates!

SOURCE